Two comments and a private message on my “Brief Guide” post got me thinking about gendered language. Specifically the title of that piece, which used the word “douchy.” (And should it have been douchey? I still don’t know.) The second of those comments lead me here when I quite enjoyed reading.

The argument is that since douching, and therefore douche bags, are a feminine activity the insult in calling someone a douche, a douche bag, or saying they are douchy (I’m sticking with that spelling until the AP makes a call) is in feminizing them. Many others have argued that since we all now know that douching is – at best – pointless for hygiene the insult is that you’re telling the person they’re useless, possibly dangerous, and don’t belong anywhere near a woman’s vagina.

I can definitely see both sides of this argument, and I do my best to change how I use language when I realize the significance of my word choices. (I’m trying like hell to stop saying things I dislike are “lame,” for instance.) What makes this one interesting is that there does seem to be a real disagreement about this particular group of words. I know a lot of smart, feminist women who employ the d-word fairly often when referring to some “extra classy” dudes and their actions. I honestly never gave it any thought before this week, but now I think I should.

How about you folks? Most of you are smart, savvy people. You’re hip, you get it. You know what all the young kids are doing. What are your thoughts on calling jerky dudes douches?